Please enter both an email address and a password.

Account login

Need to reset your password?  Enter the email address which you used to register on this site (or your membership/contact number) and we'll email you a link to reset it. You must complete the process within 2hrs of receiving the link.

We've sent you an email

An email has been sent to Simply follow the link provided in the email to reset your password. If you can't find the email please check your junk or spam folder and add to your address book.

Surgical Specialty Leads

Surgical Specialty Leads (SSLs) have responsibility both for the development of clinical networks to deliver multi-centre studies as well as ensuring that the studies are relevant to their subspecialty and their patients.

Surgical Specialty Leads will work with the Surgical Trials Centres (STCs) to develop clinical networks, train surgical investigators and deliver the clinical trials in a timely fashion. Each SSL will be affiliated to a specialist surgical society, with whom they will work to develop the clinical trials and clinical networks. 

Bariatric Surgery

  • Mr Dimitrios Pournaras, Bristol


  • Mr Stuart McIntosh, Belfast
  • Miss Shelley Potter, Bristol


  • Professor Gavin Murphy, Leicester

Colorectal Surgery

  • Professor Susan Moug, Glasgow
  • Mr Dale Vimalachandran, Chester

Gynaecological Oncology 

  • Ms Louise Wan, Manchester
  • Mr Filipe Correia-Martins, Cambridge

Hand Surgery

  • Ms Emma Reay, Newcastle


  • Professor Michael Jenkinson, Liverpool

Oesophageal Cancer

  • Professor Tim Underwood, Southampton

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

  • Mr Douglas Hammond, Lancashire

Orthopaedic Surgery

  • Professor Dan Perry, Oxford
  • Professor Paul Baker, York


  • Mr James O'Hara, Newcastle


  • Mr Nigel Hall, Southampton

Pancreatic Cancer

  • Professor Keith Roberts, Birmingham

Plastics and Hand Surgery

  • Mr Matt Gardiner, Oxford


  • Professor Peter J. Friend, Oxford

Trauma Surgery

  • Professor Xavier Griffin, London


  • Professor Caroline Moore, London

Vascular Surgery

  • Professor Matt Bown, Leicester
  • Mr Dan Carradice, Hull/York
  • Mr George Smith, Hull/York

Share this page: